The Many ‘Weird & Wonderful’ Surprises of Marriage <3

It was 9 in the morning. I was sipping my coffee and crafting plans for the day, inside my mind. It was not too early, but the humdrum lying ahead was making me feel reluctant and tired!! I wanted to sleep late that day, but I sprang up at 5.30 in the morning. Huh!! I tossed and turned in my bed, to sleep all over again but couldn’t. So finally I woke up, brushed my teeth, put on my shoes and was ready to soak in some morning freshness. Time for morning walk!! I came out of the house, the sky was grey, cool wind was puffing and as usual there were school buses running around everywhere. Busy mum dad with their children, a heavy school bag (which is sometimes even heavier and larger than the kid himself) and that face full of frantic worries of dropping their child to school on time were all around me.

Anyways coming back to my story!!

I came back home and was just lying down on a couch. I was thinking of something even I don’t know about. May be just that again a usual day awaits. The clock kept ticking though and finally I got up and started off with my daily affairs. I was all engrossed and ignorant of the surprise in store for me. Suddenly the doorbell rang, which actually maddened me, as this was not the time for anyone to come. Plus I was in the middle of an important conversation with my dad. But with bell came a gorgeous surprise I didn’t expect, even in my darkest hour. As soon as I opened the door, my hubby was standing right in front of me, smiling and beaming. And I was frozen. Am I dreaming? Is this real? I was too shocked; rather say pleasantly shaken to see him and didn’t know what to do. I hurriedly opened the door and hugged him. I couldn’t control my glee and words refused to come out of my mouth. But that grin of mine was speaking it all. It was a surprise I will never forget.

Being a marine engineer, my hubby spends 4-5 months on ship, and I fervently wait for the day he will be back home. This time it was supposed to be in august, but voila!! He is here and suddenly the day became sunnier and brighter and happier.  I love surprises and he loves surprising me. We connect!! In fact marriage is all about connection and surprises, isn’t it?

I married him 3 years ago, and since then my life was full of big and small surprises. Some were weird & irksome while some were brilliant & fanciful, some were sluggish, while some were instant, but they keep coming and I keep relishing. New family, new atmosphere, different routine, different taste, perception and choices, different personalities and totally different thinking. Well, just think and imagine, won’t each morning will be a surprise for you when you know nothing about a person (except that he loves you)?? The relation itself is surprise for you, cheering you up, vivifying your life and adding just that right amount of spice and sugar to it.

Enough to make you both fall in love and spend the entire life together. I am sure you will scorn some of the wonders coming along your way but that’s what being married is about. Both good and bad comes. I destroy some as I feel they are toxic for us, while some I carry along, as I know they are good for our relation. I make sure I count and remember latter ones, since they are the best part of my marriage. Rest all come and goes. Everyone tells us that things will change after marriage, but every couple’s experience is different. Once you survive all good and bad surprises, you’ll understand the value of marriage and family.

compared-to-dreams-reality-can-be-truly-cruel-but-it-can-also-come-up-with-beautiful-surprises-quote-1

Surprises need not be huge or grand but little ones that can just make your heart melt. Those little gestures like, when he gives an unexpected smile somewhere in the middle of a crowd, speaks for me when the whole world is against me, bring a rose just to make me feel special, fix up a hot cappuccino on a rainy day when I am too lazy to get out of bed, kiss me to make me feel more protected and complete, put on my favourite shirt, tidy the messed up room while I am busy, wakes me up with a scrumptious bed breakfast, switch on to my favourite channel because I don’t like watching football, help me with my problems and make sure I have a solution. Well, What are these? Just a gesture? A move? Or something exceptional out of sheer love and fondness?  These are nothing but small surprises marriage and love holds, which we were not aware of. They make us laugh and love and keep up the spark of marriage. Forever!!

Of all God’s plans and awes, marriage is one. It’s a beautiful surprise for us by him. It did change the trajectory of our lives, but also blessed us in many ways. I still remember, on my wedding day, the place was full of friends and family. All of us wanted that day to be the most memorable day in life and hence everyone was busy in preparations. But the truth is, ‘You can’t prepare for the best things in life, they just happen.’ Despite our greatest efforts, so much about our marriage has been unexpected. But I knew in an instant this would be the best day of my life.

And since then, surprises have kept coming. And I am sure they will never stop. Some might not be splendid enough and will try holding me back, but the best ones will help me sail through. 

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Awesome sweetheart. Expressed very well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. RUPS says:

      Thnku so much dear 😘

      Like

Leave a Reply

